USGA’s Davis: ‘Clearly we made a big bogey’

A day after the U.S. Open was nearly marred by a rules controversy, USGA executive director and CEO Mike Davis explained that his organization would like a “mulligan” over how it handled the penalty ultimately assessed to winner Dustin Johnson.  Johnson’s ball moved slightly on the fifth green during the final round. While the walking rules official initially absolved him of any penalty, USGA officials revisited Johnson on the 12th tee to inform him that a penalty was still possible and would be decided after a video review at the conclusion of his round.

For complete story, click here:

 

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmail